English Department


Carrie Dirmeikis - Curriculum Leader

GRADE 6
Students read in a number of contexts to scaffold the development of comprehension and literary interpretation skills. These contexts include supported read-alouds, whole class study of single texts, collaborative literature circle groups, and independent reading. Explicit instruction focuses on a number of reading strategies which include recalling and identifying important details, questioning a text, drawing inferences, making connections, and synthesizing information in the service of developing larger theories. All reading instruction is intended to lead students to read with purpose and for meaning.

GRADE 7
Students read a variety of genre as they develop comprehension and literary interpretation skills. Throughout the year, students experience interactive read-alouds, whole class study of single texts, collaborative literature circle groups, and independent reading. Explicit instruction focuses on practicing reading strategies, which include retellings, questioning, drawing inferences, making connections, and synthesizing information in the service of developing larger theories. All instruction is intended to lead students into independent application of the skills they learn.

GRADE 8
Students read across a variety of genre as they develop comprehension and literary interpretation skills. Throughout the year, students experience interactive read-alouds, whole class study of single texts, collaborative literature circle groups, and independent reading. Explicit instruction focuses on applying reading strategies which include questioning, drawing inferences, making connections, and synthesizing information in the service of developing larger theories as they move from concrete to abstract and analytical thinking. All instruction is intended to lead students into independent application of the skills they learn. All reading instruction is intended to lead students to read with purpose and for meaning.

Literacy Boost in all grades is offered to learners who would benefit from small group direct instruction in order to maintain/accelerate their literacy learning. Teacher recommendations and students' literacy performance is considered in selecting deserving candidates.



Name Grade Email
Extension
Emily Anderson 8  emily_anderson@wayland.k12.ma.us 2401 
Leonor Daley 6  leonor_daley@wayland.k12.ma.us 2410
Carrie Dirmeikis
 7 & 8
 carrie_dirmeikis@wayland.k12.ma.us 2413
Luann Duesterberg 7  luann_duesterberg@wayland.k12.ma.us 2415
Lori DiGisi All   lori_digisi@wayland.k12.ma.us 2412
Stephanie Galvani
 6  stephanie_galvani@wayland.k12.ma.us 2419
Tom Halpin
 6  thomas_halpin@wayland.k12.ma.us
2422
Kristen Offord 7 & 8
 kristen_offord@wayland.k12.ma.us 2443
Meeghan Peirce
8  meeghan_peirce@wayland.k12.ma.us 2445
Heidi Waldstein 7  heidi_waldstein@wayland.k12.ma.us
2461

Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2018 West Corporation. All rights reserved.